page tools /
Member LoginContact Us
NJAIS
78 Washington Street
Morristown, NJ 07960
Phone: 888-472-3491
Home >
Professional Development > Program Schedule 18-19



NJAIS PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT EVENT CALENDAR 2018-19

Follow links for registration and additional program details.

* Please note that this is a partial listing. New events will be added. Please watch the NJAIS website and listservs. *

Exhibitor opportunities available at all events.  Please visit our Exhibitor Registration page.

 

Image result for december

Tuesday, December 4, 2018: NJAIS Legal Issues for Schools

With Debra Wilson, NAIS Legal Counsel, Caryn Pass of Venable LLP, Stefani Schwartz of Schwartz Weiner Law Group LLP, and Mark Kluger of Kluger Healy LLC

For: Heads of School, Trustees, Finance Officers, Admissions Officers, and School Administration

Location:  Peddie School


Wednesday, December 5, 2018: Reading and Learning Specialist Round Table

For: Reading and Learning Specialists and Support Teachers

Location: Ranney School


Thursday, December 6, 2018: Institute for Teaching Diversity and Social Justice, Session 3

For: All Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)


Thursday, December 6, 2018: What the Tech is Going On?!

For: Classroom Teachers, Technology Integrators, Administrators, and Curriculum Coordinators

Location: Delbarton School


Friday, December 7, 2018: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education, Block 2

For: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education Cohort

Location: Morristown-Beard School



Image result for january

Saturday, January 12, 2019: Trustee Enrichment Day

For: Boards of Trustees, Heads of School, and Administrators

Location: The Pennington School

**Snow Date: Sunday, January 13**


Thursday, January 17, 2019: Beyond Fake News: Information Literacy, Publishing, and Schools

For: Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: Delbarton School

**Snow Date: Thursday, January 24**



Tuesday, January 29, 2019: Ethics and Civil Discourse

For: Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: Kent Place School

** Snow Date: Wednesday, January 30**


Thursday, January 31, 2019: NJAIS Board Meeting and Program for Heads of School

For: NJAIS Board Members and All Heads of School

Location:  Joseph Kushner Hebrew Academy

**Remote if inclement weather**



Image result for february

Friday, February 1, 2019: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education, Block 3

For: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education Cohort

Location: Purnell School

**Snow Date: Friday, February 8**


Tuesday, February 5, 2019: Design Thinking Workshop

For: Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: The Hun School of Princeton

**Snow Date: Thursday, February 7**


Tuesday, February 12, 2019: Math, Science, STEM Department Chairs Round Table

For: Department Chairs for Mathematics, Science, and STEM

Location: Princeton Day School

**Snow Date: Wednesday, February 13**


Wednesday, February 20, 2019: Empowering Classrooms: Integrate Social Emotional Learning into Academics

For: Classroom Teachers, Department Chairs, Curriculum Coordinators, and Academic Administrators

Location: St. Benedict's Preparatory School

**Snow Date: Thursday, February 21**


Saturday, February 23, 2019: Job Fair to Promote Diversity

For: School Hiring Committee Members

Location: The Peck School

**Snow Date: Sunday, February 24**



Image result for march

Thursday, March 7 - Friday, March 8, 2019: Early Childhood and Lower School Heads Conference

For: Early Childhood Director and Lower School Division Heads

Location: Molly Pitcher Inn


Tuesday, March 19, 2019: EdCamp Inspired for IT Professionals

For: Directors of Technology and School IT Support Staff

Location: Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child



Image result for april

Tuesday, April 2, 2019: Teacher Observation and Feedback

For: Deans of Faculty, Division Heads, and Academic Deans

Location: The Pennington School


Wednesday, April 3, 2019: Reading and Learning Specialists Round Table

For: Reading and Learning Specialists and Support Teachers

Location: Chatham Day School


Thursday, April 4, 2019: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education Dinner

For: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education Cohort

Location: Rutgers Preparatory School


Tuesday, April 9, 2019: Mindfulness - Taking Care of Ourselves and Our Students

For: All Teachers, Counselors, and Administrators

Location: TBD


Wednesday, April 10, 2019: Ethics and the Arts

For: Visual and Performing Arts Teachers, and Curriculum Coordinators

Location: Kent Place School


Wednesday, April 17, 2019: Advancement Officers Conference

For: Advancement and Development Officers

Location: TBD


Wednesday, April 24 - Thursday, April 25, 2019:  Finance Officers Conference

For: Finance Officers, Business Managers, and HR Directors

Location: Molly Pitcher Inn


Friday, April 26, 2019: Equity, Justice, and Inclusion Conference

**Replaces Biennial Conference**

For: All Teachers and Administrators

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)



Image result for may


Wednesday, May 1 - Thursday, May 2, 2019:  Head of School Conference

For: Heads of School

Location: Molly Pitcher Inn


Tuesday, May 7, 2019: Sustainability

For: Sustainability Coordinators and Outdoor Classroom Teachers

Location: Princeton Day School


Tuesday, May 14 - Wednesday, May 15, 2019: Admissions Officers Conference

For: Admissions Officers

Location: Molly Pitcher Inn


COMPLETED PROGRAMS:

Image result for august

Tuesday, August 7, 2018: Level I Google Educator Training

For: Teachers and Administrators

Location: Princeton Academy of the Sacred Heart

**Waitlist Available - Please contact Rachel Folan, rfolan@njais.org**

 

Wednesday, August 8 - Thursday, August 9, 2018: Innovation Symposium

For: All Classroom Teachers, Administrators, Technology Integrators, Curriculum Coordinators, and those looking to enhance their innovative instructional practice

Location: Stuart Country Day School of the Sacred Heart

 

Monday, August 13 - Thursday, August 16, 2018: Instructional Skills Workshop

For: New Teachers, Veteran Teachers, and Administrators

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)

 

Monday, August 20, 2018: Program and Dinner for Athletic Professionals

For: Athletic Directors, Coaches, and Physical Education Teachers

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)

 

Tuesday, August 21, 2018: It's Not Too Late. Protect Yourself!  The Floodgates Have Opened

Presentation by: Stefanie Schwartz, Esq.

For: All School Administrators, Human Resource Managers, and Finance Officers

Location: Delbarton School

Image result for september

Wednesday, September 26, 2018: Summer and Auxiliary Program Directors Round Table

For: Summer and Auxiliary Program Directors

Location: Gill St. Bernard’s School

 

Thursday, September 27, 2018: Building an Ethical Community in Your School

For: Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: Kent Place School

 

 

Image result for october

Wednesday, October 3, 2018: Edu-Tourism: A Visit to AltSchool, Avenues, and Portfolio School

For: Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: Leave from and return to Dwight-Englewood School

**Limited Space!  Register Early!**

Thursday, October 4, 2018: Institute for Teaching Diversity and Social Justice, Session 1

For: All Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)

**Waitlist Available - Please contact Rachel Folan, rfolan@njais.org**

 

Wednesday, October 10, 2018: K-8 and Small Schools Round Table

For: Heads, Assistant Heads, and Administrators at K-8 and other Small Schools

Location: Far Brook School

 

Thursday, October 11, 2018: WHO the Tech?!

For: Novice Technology Directors, Integrators, and Network Administrators

Location: Lacordaire Academy

 

Friday, October 12, 2018: Grit and Grace: An Institute for Female Leaders in Education, Block 1

For: Women who are current school administrators and women who aspire to move into school leadership roles with a minimum of 3-5 years professional experience

Location: Saddle River Day School

 

Wednesday, October 17, 2018: Cybersecurity Workshop for Independent School Administrators

For: Technology Directors, Business Officers, and Heads of School

Location: Princeton Academy of the Sacred Heart

 

Friday, October 19, 2018: Lunch Bunch for Heads of School

For: Heads of School

Location: Eno Terra, Kingston, NJ

 

Monday, October 22, 2018:  Don’t Worry, Be Happy!  Promoting Emotional Health and Wellness in Our Schools 

**Replaces Biennial Conference**

For: All Faculty and Administrators

Location: Far Hills Country Day School

 

Wednesday, October 24, 2018: Finance Officers Workshop

For: Finance Officers

Location: Newark Academy


Thursday, October 25, 2018: Nurses Round Table

For: School Health Professionals

Location: Kent Place School

 

Friday, October 26, 2018: World Language Workshop


For: World Language Teachers and Administrators

Location: Kent Place School


Friday, October 26, 2018: Advancement Workshop

For: Advancement and Development Officers

Location: Mount Saint Mary Academy

 

Tuesday, October 30, 2018: The Effective Assistant: Building the Modern Professional Staff

For: All School Administrative Support Professionals

Location: Chatham Day School

 

 

Image result for november

Thursday, November 1, 2018: Institute for Teaching Diversity and Social Justice, Session 2

For: All Classroom Teachers and Administrators

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)

 

Thursday, November 1, 2018: Equity and Justice Dinner 

with Jennifer Bryan, Team Finch Consultants

For: All Teachers and Administrators

Location: The Pingry School (Basking Ridge)

 

Friday, November 2, 2018: Admissions Officers Workshop

For: Admissions Officers

Location: Kent Place School

 

Wednesday, November 7, 2018: NJAIS Board Meeting and Head’s Luncheon

For: NJAIS Board Members and all Heads of School

Location: Joseph Kushner Hebrew Academy

 

Thursday, November 8 - Friday, November 9, 2018: Academic Leadership Conference

For: Assistant Heads, Division Heads, Deans of Faculty, Academic Deans, Curriculum Coordinators, Leaders of Faculty Culture and Curriculum, and those involved in hiring

Location:  Molly Pitcher Inn

 

Friday, November 9, 2018: Bias Among the Well-Intentioned:  How It Affects the Hiring Process

Facilitated by Christine Savini, Principal Consultant, Diversity Directions

For: School Hiring Committee Members

Location: part of Academic Leaders Conference (see above)



Wednesday, November 14, 2018: Global Travel Workshop

With Debra Wilson, NAIS Legal Counsel, and Liza Kabanova, Risk Management Consultant for United Educators

For: Global Initiatives Coordinators, Community Service Directors, Trip Leaders, and Finance Officers

Location:  The Hun School of Princeton




email page print page large type small type
powered by finalsite